Eldoret or Bust! High altitude training, here I come.

runningshoes

Ready or not, I have the opportunity to spend the weekend training at high altitude in Eldoret, Kenya, thanks to an awesome running group.

Not sure what that means? It means that for a couple of days, I’ll be, in some cases, literally rubbing elbows with some of the world’s best marathoners.

Eep!

The schedule says we’ll do a training run with one of those runners, Lornah Kiplagat. But let me be honest: It ain’t going to be about keeping up with her. I’ll be lucky to be able to stay in the same zip code.

I remember a few years ago, a friend and I made a pilgrimage to Pittsburgh to try to see Bob Dylan in concert. I say try because we didn’t have tickets.

On our way there, we stopped at one of our favorite little shops in the South Side. A woman who worked there was a die-hard Dylan fan; we browsed to the sounds of “Like a Rolling Stone” and “Stuck Inside of Mobile with the Memphis Blues Again.”

She was getting ready to go to the concert. As she prepared to leave, she took a moment to rapturously proclaim to the store’s customers:

Just think! We’re breathing the same air as Bob Dylan.

Indeed.

It was an outdoor venue, so we found a comfy seat on a lawn nearby and enjoyed the show, without paying a bloomin’ cent.

I’m thinking of that as I prepare to head upcountry. I may not be able to keep up with these amazing runners. But at least I’ll be breathing the same air.

Stay tuned to see if I survive.

Leave a Reply

