Where your treasure is

Somebody tried to break into my home today.

I’m not sure I can wrap my mind around it. Maybe it’s because I wasn’t there when it happened. They didn’t get in, thanks to watchful neighbors.

Officially, it’s considered an “attempt.” I still feel like they succeeded.

Home is a refuge. It’s a place I am completely comfortable, where I allow myself to relax and to recharge. I’m not sure how I feel about it now.

Change of topic. You’re OK with that, right?

Have you heard the acronym “IDP”? It stands for “internally displaced person” – a rather sterile phrase for refugees in their own country.

Today, I sat in a classroom listening to children from the Tana Delta region haltingly share about violence they had experienced.

They can’t go home. They fled, the women and the children. The men stayed behind. Families have been wounded or torn apart. Homes have burned. In the past six months, tribal violence in the area has led to the deaths of almost 200 and forced hundreds more to flee.

A recent Reuters blog post from Kenyan photojournalist Siegfried Modola documented the violence (warning: some photos are of a graphic nature).

I don’t think it’s an accident that the following Bible passage came to mind.

Do not lay up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal, but lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust destroys and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. – Matthew 6:19-21

For where your treasure, there your heart will be also.

A thief may take things. Things. But today was also a reminder that things are not important. Those children, refugees in their own country, know this truth all too well.

I am thankful for that reminder. I pray I remember it as I continue reporting the stories I hear this week.

One response to “Where your treasure is

Leave a Reply

