Thankful for friends – and s’mores

Sometimes, it’s the little things.

It’s a Saturday night, hanging out with good friends around a fire, making s’mores and relaxing. It’s those meetings that just happen to line up at the right time before friends go in different directions. It’s doing one last run with a running buddy on the first trail where the obsession began. It’s a Sunday morning worship service with a message on friendship I needed to hear.

The past couple of weeks have been a flurry of checking things off my to-do list, realizing I need to add more items to the list and generally engaging in the frantic “Holy moly! I’m moving to another country!” whirlwind.

I leave for Kenya in nine days. NINE DAYS.

There’s a lot to do. But I’m thankful for the time I’ve had to spend time with friends and family these past few weeks. No matter how many things I need to do, that’s one of the most important.

Funding update

I am now at 51 percent of my funding; I still need at least $700/month to be able to stay the full two years. To see a detailed monthly financial breakdown, click here.

Throughout this process, I’ve been humbled by the support of so many. Thank you! If you are interested in supporting me, there are two ways to do this:

1. Recurring gifts: If at least 28 people commit to $25 a month or 14 people commit to $50, I will reach my goal. There is no amount too small per month.

2. One-time gift: Lump sums are also welcome and go toward the monthly percentage as well.

How to donate

Online: To donate online, click on the link here or the giving link image above left.

Mail: You can also submit donations via mail using the printable reponse form (PDF) and sending it to SIMUSA Receipting, P.O. Box 7900, Charlotte, NC 28241.

Leave a Reply

