28 days ’til I move to Kenya: Help!

I feel like this little girl. No matter how many months I’ve had to prepare, I’m standing on a road, journey uncharted, destination unclear. Hands on hips, I try to calm the butterflies doing cartwheels in my stomach.

The tickets are purchased. I’m heading to Nairobi June 28. Commence happy dance. Duh … duh, duh, duhhhh!

I pick up my pen and scribble a to-do list in my planner.

– Update driver’s license
– Get finances in order
– Sell car
– Cancel car insurance
– Cancel cell phone
– Get prayer card reminders ready to pass out/mail to supporters
– Organize and pack my essentials

But there’s one thing I can’t cross off the to-do list myself.

– Move to Kenya for two years

Two years is the original time frame I signed up for. But right now, I don’t have enough monthly support for that period. I’m leaving June 28; how long I stay is unclear.

In my most recent e-newsletter, I wrote about assurance.

“Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.” Hebrews 11:1

Assurance, in part, can mean freedom from doubt. If I’m honest, I’ll admit to having doubt along this journey. I have doubt even now.

Offsetting that doubt though is the memory of things falling into place – a house selling quickly and easily in the middle of a sluggish housing market, support to transition out of my former workplace over a period of months and affirmations from people I am close to and those I’ve met along the way. I even found a new happy home for my cat. (More on that later.)

So, what do the next 28 days – and the days after that – hold? God knows. He does.

Want to help?

I still need about $1,000 a month for the two-year term. To see a detailed monthly financial breakdown, click here.

If you haven’t already done so, would you prayerfully consider partnering financially with me? There are two ways to do this:

1. Recurring gifts: If at least 40 people commit to $25 a month or 20 people commit to $50, I will reach my goal. There is no amount too small per month.

2. One-time gift: Lump sums are also welcome and go toward the monthly percentage as well.

How to donate

Online: To donate online, click on the link here or the giving link image above left.

Mail: You can also submit donations via mail using the printable reponse form (PDF) and sending it to SIMUSA Receipting, P.O. Box 7900, Charlotte, NC 28241.

A road less traveled

I’ve shared about the financial need; I’m praying for additional supporters. It really is a giant step of faith.

But here’s another way to look at the little girl.

That road looks endless, the destination just over the next hill or around a bend. It looks filled with possibilities and packed with potential. Hands on my hips, I consider all of the crazy adventures I’m about to encounter.

I can’t wait to start – and I can’t wait to share the experiences with you.

4 responses to “28 days ’til I move to Kenya: Help!

  1. Hi Rebecca:
    I saw your email to Ray giving him your date for your commissioning service in June. I sure wish I were closer to be able to join you in this milestone. Your BLOG and analogy and picture of the little girl was awesome. I received a call today from Angie Boehmer after leaving a message on her cell phone yesterday. She is ready to go, too and has pretty much finished packing. She is back in Ohio and catches her flight on Sunday. I know that this has been a real “faith” stretching time for you BUT God knows ALL about it. Praying for more financial and prayer partners to come on board.

    Joshua 1:6-9 ~ Stay strong in the Lord my friend.
    Love and Hugs,
    Amy

    • As great as it would be to see you before I leave, I understand. I had hoped to make it down to Charlotte again to see you and other friends, but it’s not going to work out. Rats! So good to hear that you got to talk with Angie – I’m so excited for her to head to Nigeria. (c:

      Thanks for your encouragement. I’m still not sure what God is up to right now – partial funding doesn’t seem like a very clear sign. But I know He’s up to something.
      Talk soo

  2. Hi Rebecca!
    So I know we haven’t met..but I look forward to meeting you in a couple of weeks…in Nairobi! I too, will be flying to Nairobi to work with SIM (only for 2 months) as a STA! I was browsing the missionary profiles and decided to click on yours…and hey, you’re going to kenya! So cool! I can’t wait to meet you and learn more about how God directed you to SIM and to Nairobi. For me, this dream of serving in Kenya has been on my heart since I was in middle school and it’s still pretty surreal that this time two weeks from now I will BE THERE. Anyway, just thought I would drop you a note!

    • Hi Elise, glad you clicked on my profile! (: I can’t wait to meet you too. I’ve wanted to make this transition for a while and the fact that it’s coming soon – ah! lots to do. Haha. See you in a few weeks!

Leave a Reply

