Sheep! And wool!

I work with sheep every day. This weekend, I’m heading south to visit some friends – along the way, I’ll hang out with even more sheep.

Why not?

It’s an event that’s an intrinsic part of my history: the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival.

Next year, it will celebrate its 40th anniversary. Thirty-nine years ago, my parents and other sheep producers founded the event. Over the years, it’s grown to be one of the largest festivals of its kind – tens of thousands of people come from all over the country and internationally to attend during the first full weekend in May. Read more

I’ve written before how this past six months or so has been one continuous walk down memory lane in some ways. The festival is just another stop.

Stay tuned for lots of sheep and wool photos and stories from the weekend. It’s been years since I’ve set foot on the fairgrounds. But I spent my early years just down the road, and I’ve known many of the organizers my whole life.

This could be interesting.

Leave a Reply

