Why I ran 25K for Dorcas Ministries

As I gutted my way through the Hyner View Trail Challenge on April 21, there were moments I struggled – and there were moments I celebrated. But there was never a moment when I thought about quitting.

What drove me – other than the crazy push distance runners have to cover the miles? It was the thought that by crossing the finish line, another goal would be realized: increased awareness and funding for an SIM Kenya outreach, Dorcas Ministries.

I want to see women all over the world get opportunities to learn, grow and thrive. That’s what drew me to Dorcas Ministries. Read more here.

I’m happy to announce that we raised $350. Thanks to some bonus material sent to me recently from Kenya, I would like to take the next week to share more about the ministry and the women involved.

I’d like to see if we can get even closer to my original goal of $700 – enough to fund the training of five women.

I’m excited about the work Dorcas Ministries does. But don’t take my word for it. Sheryl O’Brien, and her husband, Dave, have served with SIM for more than 20 years, in Liberia, Nigeria, the United States and currently in Kenya.

What Sheryl has to say

Ruth Omungo

Since my husband and I came here in 2009 and he began teaching at Nairobi International School of Theology, I have had many occasions to interact with and work alongside Ruth Omungo, the Dorcas Ministries director.

She is an amazing, hard-working, faith-filled woman of God who has been making a considerable impact on the lives of pastors’ wives and Christian workers in the margins of society here in Nairobi. Ruth is well educated, articulate and godly. She is a wonderful role model for the women she trains, as well as a skilled counselor and a visionary program developer.

In our 23 years with SIM, Dave and I have met a number of amazing African Christians and have been exposed to a lot of good ministries.

I honestly feel that the kind of training and mentoring Ruth provides with Dorcas Ministries is among the best examples of SIM ministries anywhere!

Want to donate?

1. Click on THIS LINK

2. Enter “92164” in the Project ID field

3. Enter your donation amount and payment information

4. Be sure to mark it as “Dorcas Ministries – 25K” in the comments section

OR: Make out a check to SIMUSA with “Dorcas Ministries – 25K race” in the memo line. Mail to: SIMUSA Receipting, P.O. Box 7900, Charlotte, NC 28241

Leave a Reply

