In honor of Leap Day, I’m taking one

A leap, that is.

Not a day … although there are those who probably think I’m long overdue for one of the mental health variety. But I digress. Kind of.

Today, I took a deep breath and signed up for a distance race, the first in a long time and the first I’ve ever attempted on trails: the Hyner View Trail Challenge on April 21.

It’s a 25K – or 16.35 miles – with more than 4,220 feet of elevation gain. Crazy? Probably. No, make that absolutely. The reward? Some pretty spectacular views, as you see from the race site. And finishing without dying will also be a plus.

So, why put myself through this? I’m glad I did the Charlottesville (Va.) Half Marathon and the Pittsburgh Marathon. They’re two big check marks off my bucket list. But the fact is, I think road running is boring.

There’s no question: Trail running is more physically demanding. After spending more than a year recovering from a trail running wipeout that tore up my knee (see photo at right – yes, objects are as big as they appear), I may be a glutton for punishment.

Here’s the bottom line though – I love trail running, and I love challenges. Honestly, I don’t know what took me so long to sign up for something like this.

I’m excited about the miles ahead. I’m also excited to do it for a good cause.

Stay tuned for details on that. And what exactly is required to prepare for such an event.  And how exactly sheep farming fits into the training schedule.

Leave a Reply

