What a difference a year makes

I’m not sure which was more exhausting.

The 500-mile, white-knuckle drive through blizzard conditions or the 500-mile trail of second guesses – either way, that first arrival in Charlotte for SIM’s orientation weekend still feels like it was yesterday, not a year ago.

I wasn’t sure what to expect. I kept thinking, Are these missionaries super holy? Do they have a sense of humor? Do they understand sarcasm? … What on earth am I doing?

Silly, right? But true.

A couple of days later, we sat at dinner while a former Niger missionary shared yet another story of missionary mishap. She and her husband drove 10 hours to attend the wedding of a dear friend, mixed up the times, missed the wedding but not the reception, knocked over decorations, had to sit down at the very last table and yet had the Southern poise to ask, “So, how was the wedding?”

We laughed so hard we cried. Yes, these missionaries had a sense of humor.

Needless to say, by the end of that weekend, excitement had replaced my apprehension. I saw that an organization like SIM could use people with journalism/communication skills, and I saw the opportunities there were to spread the word about what SIM does.

I was ready to begin my journey to become one of more than 1,600 SIM missionaries worldwide.

Fast forward 365 days.

The past year has been a crazy ride, as I shared earlier. I think 2012 is going to be even crazier, especially as I get closer to a hoped-for departure date.

Support update

Pre-field budget: 91 %

fundraisers

Monthly support pledged: 32 %

fundraisers

Interested in joining me on this journey or looking for more details? Check out my Support page.

Leave a Reply

