When life gives you French pastries and Indian curry …

Nothing like a milestone everyone on Facebook knows about to put things in perspective.

What’s that, you ask?

Yeah, that would be my birthday. (Cue timpani)

I promise not to get maudlin, but I wanted to take a few minutes to dwell on why I’m thankful I’m not in Kenya yet.

(A week or so ago, I wouldn’t have said that … funny the difference a few days can make.)

Last month, I was approved as a cooperative missionary by World Witness, the mission board of my denomination, the Associate Reformed Presbyterian Church. As part of the process, I traveled to Greenville, S.C., to meet with the board and share my story. It was encouraging to get positive feedback from the committee and get plugged into the broader ARP community outside of my congregation, Christ Presbyterian Church.

This has opened doors to share my story with other ARP churches. So, I’ve made the trek back to Charlotte again – which by now, is basically my second home.

On Nov. 6, I spoke at services of Back Creek Presbyterian Church. It was a privilege to worship with them and see their passion for a Jesus-centered focus. I also had the opportunity to meet Pastor Zac Kariuki and others from the Charlotte Kenyan community who worship at Back Creek.

I am excited to meet with more ARP contacts throughout the week and share my vision for my work in media.

It just so happens that my trip to Charlotte corresponds with another SIM training session, as well as a visit from fellow SIMers on their way to Kenya later this month. It resulted in a weekend full of laughter, good conversations and encouragement for the journey ahead. I even met some new SIMers who will be serving on the same team.

So, no, I’m not in Kenya yet. Lord willing, I’ll be able to book my ticket for January.

But I spent my birthday where I needed to be – and for that, I’m thankful.

Besides, it gave me an excuse to enjoy some chocolate ganache cake, salted caramel brownie and Indian curry – in that order.

It’s my birthday after all.

Leave a Reply

