Even Snoopy knows writing is hard

As I was digging through old papers to find my high school diploma for my Kenya work permit application, I stumbled upon old comic strips that have been with me for quite some time – since college, in fact. Why have they traveled with me for long?

See, there are plenty of quotations about how hard writing can be:

“Writing is easy. You just stare at a blank sheet of paper until drops of blood form on your forehead.” – Gene Fowler

“A writer is somebody for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.” – Thomas Mann

Or how hard it is to abide with the abuse of punctuation and grammar:

“Part of one’s despair, of course, is that the world cares nothing for the little shocks endured by the sensitive stickler. While we look in horror at a badly punctuated sign, the world carries on around us, blind to our plight. We are like the little boy in The Sixth Sense who can see dead people, except that we can see dead punctuation.” – Lynn Truss

Believe me, I relate – as anyone who has worked with me can confirm.

But I think it was most comforting to know that when I was pounding my head against my desk, desperately searching for the right word, Snoopy knew.

Oh yes, he knew.

(Click on the images to view them at a larger size.)

Leave a Reply

