Go West

A friend told me once after coming back from a backpacking trip in Wyoming that he thought he was born about 75 years too late. The West’s rough edges, stark contrasts and solitude suited him. He couldn’t help but wish he lived in another time, in that place.

I can relate.

At the risk of sounding like a Lifetime move, the West is where my heart is. Its mountains, open spaces, sometimes harsh conditions and frontier mentality suit me. It’s the place I first struck out on my own, sometimes succeeding and sometimes stumbling. It’s the place where I grew in my understanding of who God is and who I am in Christ. And, eventually, it may be the place I settle down.

In a little over 24 hours, I’ll be on my way out West again on a road trip. This time, I’ll be accompanied by some good friends, none of whom have been very far west. I’m excited to introduce them to some special places. I am also excited to reconnect with friends in South Dakota, Wyoming, Montana and Colorado along the way and share about SIM and my move to Kenya.

Oh, and I did I mention we’re doing this in 11 days? With stops in Rapid City, S.D.; Sheridan, Wyo.; Bozeman, Mt. (pictured); and Boulder, Colo., we’ll be covering roughly 4,200 miles or this route, more or less.

Updates from points west will be forthcoming. Stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

