Baby steps

I’m going back to basics – and it’s painful.

A couple of weeks ago, I bought “minimalist” running shoes – a cross between the rubber footie slipper things and a normal running shoe. Merrell brand in “lavender luster,” no less. Why is it that shoe companies seem to insist on offering women’s running shoes in pastels? … But I digress.

After some test runs, my leg muscles are very sore in places they’ve never been sore before – but I haven’t had any knee pain, which is something I’ve dealt with for years.

That’s why I wanted to get into minimalist running. Typical running shoes tend to alter the stride. Instead of the natural motion of striking first on the ball of the foot, the heel strikes first. Going “bare foot” or “minimalist” allows the stride to change back to a more natural motion.

At least, that’s the idea. Here’s hoping going back to the basics pays off in the long-term.

It’s a bit like life right now.

Over the next several months, I have to do some serious preparations, organizing and de-cluttering in preparation for my move to Kenya.

God willing, this includes:

  • sort through furniture/clothing/miscellany and in general, downsize
  • travel to visit friends and supporters in the East and out West
  • move my cat into his new “adoptive” home
  • record a music CD and set up live coffeehouse performance(s?)
  • finish home improvement projects and sell my house
  • sell my car

Simplifying things won’t be easy, but I believe it will be worth it. And it will force me to sort through those boxes I’ve been avoiding for five years.

Leave a Reply

